Me, Myself, I

“When we cannot bear to be alone, it means we do not properly value the only companion we will have from birth to death – ourselves.”  Eda LeShan

Sometimes I love being on my own. Listening to my music, reading, creating, going for walks but just occasionally I am troubled with my own company – my overactive mind tries to pull me into negative thought processes and it becomes a battle to be my normal happy, sunny self.

A few weeks ago I woke up alone in the house ,my boys were both staying away, and there were those negative thoughts…doing their best to make me think that my day would be a challenge.

No! Not so. Not having it.

 I thought what would make me happy?

The answer was instantaneous. The sea.

It was a rainy, blustery day but I got my waterproof, packed my rucksack with a flask and some bits to eat, and got in the car and drove.
I arrived in Lytham St.Annes about an hour later to the promise of blue skies and the smell of sea air.

I sat on a bench and just gazed out to sea. There it was. Contentment.
Call it what you will.
I was still on my own but now with a sense of freedom and adventure.

I walked along the promenade, past the delightful 18 hole mini golf course, and in the distance could see what I initially thought was a kite, but which in fact, turned out to be a kite surfer!
Impressive.
I bet he hadn’t wallowed in his bed for half an hour before he got up, I bet he was just out there thinking Wheeeeeee!!!! It’s Saturday. Time alone. Time for me.

The sun decided to come out.
Bonus.

I walked along the beach and here is what I saw: the pier

and then past the pier and in the distance flecks of movement in the sky… (click  to enlarge)

not just one but a whole host of kite surfers (I wonder what the collective term would be?)

they were mesmerising and it absolutely made my day.

I ended up sitting on the dunes,watching, in awe.

then walked back along the beach and walked to the end of the pier.

I had such a lovely time. I should do it again…soon.
 

Everybody needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to body and soul. ~John Muir

13 thoughts on “Me, Myself, I

  1. Steve – I agree, but think that for some people it's easier than others.Have you got a blogger app?You are THE fastest person at leaving comments…

  2. So I was on The Bolton News website and was reading this article thinking this is the sort of work you do then there's your name and it was you. Good work. Hope you show us the finished piece.

  3. Hello You!Love this post – & love the sea too.I can sit in solitude looking out to sea all day – completely zoned out.People will ask "Are you ok – you're very quiet?""And so???"Call for me next time?! XX

Leave a Reply

