This image contains my blood, sweat and tears

‘Rewind’

Metaphorically and almost literally.

I am learning the art of printmaking, from my amazing friend Denis at the studio.
He has crazily, put my name forward for a print exchange and exhibition (more about that some other time), so on Monday I made my first solar etching plate, from which I have to print up 25 prints!
I loved learning a new process.

 There are parts of the printing process that are very methodical and precise, difficult for wild, messy me to get my head around, but I did genuinely enjoy every bit:

  • choosing the image

  • Using a machine that’s like something from Dr. Who to solar etch the image onto the plate.

  • Inking the plate up. 

Putting my damp paper over the inked up plate then rolling it through the print rollers, then eagerly anticipating what my print will look like when I carefully peel it back from the plate  (THE most exciting bit)!

As for cutting my beautiful paper (all 25 sheets of them 20cms x 20cms), that didn’t go quite as well.
The Stanley knife needed a new blade, and as soon as it had been changed and I used it, I don’t quite now what happened, but I sliced into my finger… how stupid am I? Yes, I agree, VERY.
It was my left hand so all was not too bad. It caused a sleepless Monday night, a nauseous and nearly fainting earlyTuesday morning, and by late morning I was having it dressed by the lovliest of nurses, who informed me that I needed to have a tetanus. Joy.
This week has shown me: 
  1. That having a chest infection and pushing myself is not the best of ideas
  2. What amazing friends I have, one who actually had to wash my hand after having printed again on Wednesday because I couldn’t get my bandage wet and was struggling to get the oil based paint off my right hand., 
  3. That I need to slow down.
  4. How a lovely nurse can really put you at ease. 
  5. How much I take my hands for granted, and really shouldn’t, they are the tools of my trade.
  6. That I love learning new things and being challenged.

Going back to have it dressed again tomorrow. I look like ET. Wish mine would light up…
 Have a lovely weekend everyone.
15 thoughts on “This image contains my blood, sweat and tears

  1. Poor you. Let's hope the print-making made up for it. My tutor at college came into the studio one day, looking very flustered and with half of his tie cut off at the chest. He had been examining a plate going through one of those heavy 'mangle' presses, and his tie got caught between the rollers. The nearby pair of scissors prevented his head from going through as well! Maybe you got off lightly with a cut finger…

  2. Hey, the images of the old TDK C90's and Memorex evoke all sorts of memories of hours taping the charts trying not to get Bruno Brooks chatting at the end of Five Star and T'Pau…..oh happy days!Good Job the injury wasnt on your index finger cos you would never get that bandage up your nose. :)x

  3. Tom – thank heavens I wasn't wearing a floaty scarf around my neck! The printing most definitely made up for it, thank you.Steve – TLC is always at the top of my wish listjoe – ha haaaaaa! Funny man x

  4. Ouch! Can totally empathise with the need to listen to your body and take it easy when you're not well.Looks like you had a really productive workshop though; printmaking is such a valuable skill.

  5. Just wandered by, had a look, a read.Those new blades, I have the same every time. I swear they come out the packaging like Samurai swords, they aren't happy until they have drawn blood.Trust your finger is well healed by now ( and possibly even resliced since then ? )Lovely work.

  6. Pingback: 20:20 Print Exchange 2014 | skybluesea Art

Leave a Reply

