Forwards Always

 As part of my arts for health and well being course, I have had to create a piece of art work, and then I have to describe how the process of making it has impacted on my well being.
At the beginning of this course I was in an extremely sad place, probably one of the lowest points in my life, that’s all I’ll say about it.
Initially when asked what I would create I was really vague. I said I would just embroider something, and the very nature of the stitch and sewing would provide me with lots of calming moments. I would focus on texture, colour, surfaces and enjoy the process.
It was safe.
I was dodging my feelings.
However, if I am an artist how can my true feelings fail to emerge – be seen, hold themselves up for the world to see? Surely that’s what my art is for?
To enable all the darker thoughts that drift into my head find release, and escape. To tell a part of my story.

Click on the pictures to enlarge.
What evolved was a mixed media piece.The wings are hand drawn on water colour paper then dipped in wax. They contain the words: love, acceptance, hope, friendship and trust. They are held on machine stitched wire.
 For me they represent my wonderful family and friends lifting me up, pulling me through…

The quote, by Emily Dickenson. I just happened upon, found written in an old sketch book.
 It’s perfect for this piece. Far more poetic than anything I could ever create visually.

“Hope is the thing with feathers that perches in the soul and sings the tune without words, and never stops at all, and sweetest in the gale is heard.”

Forwards always …

12 thoughts on “Forwards Always

  1. Tom – Thank you. C'est la vie. Thank heavens for those that love us.Steve – Thank you, going to start reading your book tonight.Seth – coming from you, that's such a huge compliment. Thank you.John – Good. Hopefully, not too dark then.Julie – Thank you, that means a lot x

  2. One of my favourite quotes and have used in on my ceramics. Your piece is beautiful and I hope it was therapeutic and that you are in a better place now. Bad times do make us stronger, eventually. xCathy

  3. The strongest most compelling art is when the artist puts soul and feeling and heart into it.. it will ring true and the viewer will connect to it.. you have a very compelling piece here.

  4. Hi honey – so sorry you've been having a rough time – completely adore that piece – made me feel calm just looking at it as I've been going through a nightmare on my own at the moment. Your beautiful sketch now hangs above our bed in our newly built house – I just completely love it – hope things even out for you – with much love xxx

Leave a Reply

