A Trip to the Temperance Bar

A few days ago my aunt came to visit. She had an article from “Country Living” magazine which she had saved from an old issue, about the only remaining temperance bar in England, about half an hours drive from where I live.
It is called Fitzpatricks
So we picked my mum up on the way and the three of us set off on our adventure to a Lancashire town called Rawtenstall.

Here’s what we found. It was just how I had imagined it.

We sat at the little table and I ordered a drink of cold Dandelion and Burdock, my aunt hot Sarsaparilla and my mum hot Ginger and Lemon, They were all delicious.
I also bough some dried ginseng, which you can make a drink out of ,which is said to help restore energy – I am in need of that at the moment, so I have been brewing a pot everyday!
The young man who served us was really helpful and had an old book which listed lots of herbs and their properties, and what ailments they were good for.

 We all bought a bottle of Blood Tonic Cordial which is made with rosehips and nettles and tastes delicious.

Last night the bar was also featured on Ade in Britain  with Ade Edmonson which was really interesting to watch as it showed how they actually make some of the cordials.
It’s strange how sometimes you never visit places which are right on your doorstep.
I will definitely be returning.

So, what’s your poison? If you had to give up alcohol what would be your drink of choice?

6 thoughts on “A Trip to the Temperance Bar

  1. I saw this "bar" on a program not so long ago I think it was with Julia Bradbury. She interviewed 3 generations of the same family that followed the temperance movement and how they viewed the role of alcohol in society in general. Quite interesting, if a little austere. For some good recipes for cordials and "teas" then the books that accompany the series "Grow your own drugs" by James Wong are very interesting and very tasty…..not just nettle tea and elderberry wine. As for my non alcoholic tipple of choice, it would have to be the fresh apples that I have collected and pressed this year…DELICIOSO! and if you leave it long enough, hey-presto cider!!!

  2. An old wino walks into a hardware shop and asks the assistant for a bottle of white spirits, the assistant take one look at him and says " Sorry sir I cant serve you with that"" Why ever not?" slurs the wino," I have good reason to believe that it is for your consumption sir" replies the assistant. "How dare you young man, I will have you know I am tea-total! I have a painting job and need that to thin down some gloss" splutters the wino, " I am very sorry sir but I am not able to serve you with anything that could be harmful to your health" " WHAT!! I demand to speak to the manager" shouts the drunk.After a heated discussion with the manager and a whole lot of fuss the manager relents and asks the assistant to just get a bottle of white spirits so they can get rid of the abusive wino. " Here you go sir, one bottle of white spirits for your decorating project" says the assistant as he hands it over.With a cheeky grin and a wink the wino says "you haven't got a cold one out the fridge have you?"

  3. Steve – love lemonade in the Summer, so refreshing.Alison – It great to go somewhere that's just a bit different.Tom – Perrier with slice of lime = divineJoe – thanks for that 🙂 Your apple juice sounds yum.

Leave a Reply

