Questions and Answers

The lovely Fenngirl at My mummy wrote this for me has tagged me. The meme was created by Kerry at Mrs Lister Writes and is based on the Q&A in the Guardian Weekend supplement.

Which living person do you most admire, and why?
My husband. He inspires me all the time. 

When were you last happiest?
Having a family meal in a Tapas bar over the Easter hols. Family, food and then sunshine outside – bliss.

What was your most embarrassing moment?
After graduating from Uni I worked in a high street clothing store. I worked in the children’s clothing department, and at the time boys formal waistcoats were popular. We were encouraged to ‘link ‘ sell.
A couple came to the till with a waistcoat and I said to the chap, who was paying, “Would you like a dickie blow to go with that? “

OMG! I wanted the ground to open and for me to just disappear. I had of course meant “dickie bow”.

Thankfully he and his wife/girlfriend saw the funny side.

Aside from property, what’s the most expensive thing you’ve ever bought?
A windsurfer for my husband (he used it twice…).

What is your most treasured possession?
The oil painting my husband bought me for our 20th wedding anniversary. It was painted by my great, great grandfather.

Where would you like to live?
I love where we are living now, but think it must be wonderful to live by the sea.

What’s your favourite smell?
Toast or baking bread.

Who would play you in the film of your life?
Bizarre! How do you pick?
Rachel Weiz or Audrey Tautou – if either of them could master my dulcet Northern tones, ha ha.

What is your favourite book?
“The Artist’s Way”, Julia Cameron.
The “Twilight” series and all the “Harry Potter” books.

What is your most unappealing habit?
Swearing whist driving.

What would be your fancy dress costume of choice?

Audrey Hepburn’s Holly Golightly from ” Breakfast at Tiffany’s”. I don’t smoke, but wearing long black gloves and holding a cigarette holder I’d pretend for a night.
The dark glasses would also come in very useful if I have one glass of champagne too many.


What is your earliest memory?
Walking in “Bluebell Woods” with my mum.

What is your guiltiest pleasure?
Watching “Beverly Hills 90210” or “Glee”, with my daughter of course.
 I have to watch them with her, it would be rude not to.

What do you owe your parents?
My parents always encouraged, believed in me and showered me with love.
They also kept my flighty feet firmly on the ground.

To whom would you most like to say sorry, and why?
If I think I have upset someone I care about I will always apologise.

What or who is the greatest love of your life?
My husband.

What does love feel like?
That depends on who you are loving.

What was the best kiss of your life?
That’s for me to know and for you to wonder.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?
“please will you make me a cup of tea”
“I’ve lost my mojo”
“will you please tidy your room” (again,and again)
“eejit”

I also use … when I write a lot. I like the fact that it sort of means there’s more to say but…

What is the worst job you’ve done?
Working on a Saturday at “Argos” . Helloooooo! the brown and orange uniform alone was awful, never mind the actual job.

If you could edit your past, what would you change?
Nothing. Je ne regrette rien. (although I might rue the day that I actually posted so much stuff online)

What is the closest you’ve come to death?
Age fifteen, in a minibus going down a hill, when the driver suddenly said “The breaks have gone!”. He managed to turn right, albeit on two wheels, and the minibus eventually came to a halt.
I was shaking with shock for ages afterwards and had a very sore neck.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?
I know it’s a cliché, but when I look at my children I feel really proud.

Being asked to go to America on an artist’s exchange for a week in 2007 was amazing. I worked with American artists and we shared good practice about arts in early years education for children.

It was completely out of my comfort zone, but I am so glad that I did it.

When did you last cry, and why?
The week before my husband went to the Sahara to do the Marathon des Sables
I think it was anxiety, just hoping that he would be OK, and annoyance, if I’m brutally honest, that he would be away for twelve days.

How do you relax?
Reading. Going for walks. Doing a ‘Body Balance ‘ class.
Seeing my buddies is also relaxing – I love spending time with my friends.

What single thing would improve the quality of your life?
I have a lovely life – I am well blessed. I just wish I was more organised, and more focussed with my creativity. Hey ho – I ain’t no Mary Poppins!

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?

Still learning… but basically…
Carpe Diem.

I will now tag, only if they want to :
A Finite Number of Monkeys,
tomstephenson
101birdtales

I would be intrigued to hear all your answers.

12 thoughts on “Questions and Answers

  1. eeerrrmm, ok. I suppose they all have to be truthful?Audrey Tautou- yes I would have said her too(for you not for me , obviously)! Every time I see that dvd cover it reminds me of you.As for the "Dickie Blows" I would have thought Wendy or Emma…..oooh hush your mouth!

  2. Joe Bloggs – which DVD cover would that be then?Steve – Steady… Tom – commonly translated as "Seize the day", although "Grab the fish" may indeed be a great motto to live by, ha ha.

  3. I can see you by the seashore dressed as Holly Golightly, offering dickie blows to passers-by in dulcet Northern tones. Loved your answers – thank you for responding! x

  4. I found the tag! IT took me soooo long! I have wild assessments brewing at college and have a bit of brain burn right now(!?) so will see if I get round to this . . . . have just blogged about the bonkery feelings that go with being an artist sometimes . . . . Sigh, so much to do, wish I had more energy :)A.x

Leave a Reply

