My love – twenty years on

Beautiful card, thanks my friend H x

“ Love does not consist in gazing at each other, but in looking outward together in the same direction”
                                                               Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Today is our twentieth wedding anniversary. Writing that sentence seems really odd, it makes me feel ancient, but then I was only 22 when I got married, so of course I’m not (come on, 42 is NOT old) 🙂

My husband and I are so different, opposites on so many levels, but he has always been an amazing friend and we have the same stupid sense of humour. Our values are really similar, the way we bring up our children and our sense of family, plus he is gorgeous 😉

For our anniversary he has bought me a painting.

He has been trawling the internet for months apparently and has managed to buy me something incredible.
He has bought me a painting done by my great, great grandfather Edwin Ellis .

It has come all the way from a gallery in Buenos Aires, Argentina. It used to hang in the “English Club”, which was closed down and the painting was rescued by the gallery. It is propped against my sofa at the moment. It’s really heavy and we want to make sure that we put it up securely. My husband thought that I would hate the frame, but the first thing I said when I saw it was that I loved the frame. It’s part and parcel of it, and has a beautiful patina.
 I don’t know the title of the painting, or where it is, but it will more than likely be somewhere on the British coast. Anyone any ideas?
The rocks look very striking and I wonder if the little boy in the picture could have been my great grandfather.

I am stunned, overwhelmed, to think I actually own something he painted. I keep scrutinising his brushstrokes and the way he has applied the paint.
I am so pleased that my mum can see it too.
The little card I sent him by freya-art.
Here’s to another twenty years my love, (as if he would even read this, like I say opposites!),
but then they say opposites attract…

19 thoughts on “My love – twenty years on

  1. Wow, that is such an amazing present! It has got to be one of the most thoughtful and personal presents I've ever heard of – your hubby is a Star, truly! Congratulations on your Twentieth – and I wish you much happiness in your celebrations over the next few days. Denise x

  2. CONGRATULATIONS!! Twenty years is an achivement that too few of our generation can reach, I am happy that you both have got there hand in hand and obviously still in love. It only seems a handfull of yesterdays that we were waving you off from work. Enjoy your day and well done once again. Z.

  3. That is the most wonderfully romantic gesture. What a treasure you have there (I was talking about your hubbie, but I guess the painting also counts!). My boyfriend spent most of the day refreshing internet pages to get me Take That tickets – bless him. Finally… at 7pm… it worked!!

  4. Wow – so glad you managed to get tickets, and slightly jealous, my friend was on the computer all day, will find out this morning if she had any luck!We are both lucky ladies x

  5. so utterly lovely! True love. It is nice to hear that opposites can make it work. My partner and I are so different, let's just say he's not of the arty persuasion – but he is gorgeous!How nice to do this for you and well, I hold out hope for years to come even if I got it 'wrong' a couple of times first! :0Amelia.x

Leave a Reply

