Charity begins…

It’s nearly 3.00 am in the morning, and I can’t sleep.

The reason I can’t sleep is because I cannot stop thinking about the blogposts I have read by the ladies mentioned in this post.  I have been following their journey with great interest – I don’t think I would have the balls to go out there myself and salute them for doing so. Josie’s post keeps coming back to me, so beautifully written for one who can’t find the words.

As a child of about thirteen I remember having a phase of sleepless nights. I used to worry about “The World”, war, Government, you name it. I remember my mum coming into my room and sitting on the edge of my bed saying:
” You have the weight of the worlds troubles on your shoulders, it’s not healthy for someone of your age, ” she was lovely and tried to reassure me, but my mind used to go round and round.

Tonight I am hoping that these ladies are doing well, are managing to rest, and are coping being away from their loved ones. I don’t do Facebook or Twitter, but I blog. I have never met the ladies who have gone to Bangaladesh but I am drawn to what they have to say.

The word “Charity in the dictionary has various different meanings. There is the donation of money and material items of course but there are others worth remembering:;

“a disposition to relieve the wants of others”
“the willingness to judge people in a tolerant or favourable way”

I am particularly drawn to the latter.

For those who have criticized their trip and say “Charity begins at home”, I would say yes look at what the word “Charity” means.

I hope that I am bringing my children up to value and look after people in this country, but there is also a big wide world out there, and with the advent of all the social networking sites, the internet and so on, the world
seems a much smaller place somehow. There are many worthy causes in this country, but is it so bad to raise awareness of the plights of others on the other side of the world as well?

I can go back to bed now that I have said what was on my mind, but this time I know that there are people out there who are trying to make a difference.

5 thoughts on “Charity begins…

  1. Thanks so much for sharing this Suzanne. I've just read Josie's post and am incredibly moved. It reminds me never to take things for granted. You are spot on with your observation that the world is shrinking – I certainly feel a part of a global community, so we should be reaching out to all members and helping where we can.

  2. Dear SuzanneI love this post and I'm so glad you've written it. Like you I remember being a teenager worrying about the world, about the threat of nuclear war, about starvation in the third world, about animal welfare, etc etc. I wanted to be able to make a difference in the world back then, and I still do now, 30 years later. And it sounds very much as though you are of the same tribe as myself.Thank you for the definitions of Charity. Tolerance – this interests me at the moment, as we've had a couple of brushes with people who come across as being really not tolerant of others! I try to 'live and let live', but it surprises me that there are people who criticise us for being Vegetarian – gosh, I thought that attitude was put to sleep 20 years ago! And when it bothers me, I soon realise that the problem is the other person's issue, not mine. I'd better stop rambling now – thank you again for a thought provoking post, and for sharing your charitable nature with us.Happy days to you,Denise x

  3. Denise – thank you so much for taking the time to comment. It's lovely to know that there is another being similar to me on our lovely planet.Have a lovely weekend, and you can come and ramble on my blog anytime 😉 x

Leave a Reply

