Unwritten

Sometimes a song comes along and it seems to encapsulate a moment or mood of your life.
I am constantly listening to songs and some I return to again and again –  they become almost like the soundtrack to my life.

I have been playing “Unwritten” by Natasha Bedingfield really loud whilst tidying my kitchen, and the lyrics sum up how I feel at this moment. I feel a Spring clean of my mind is as necessary as a Spring clean of my house.

“I am unwritten, can’t read my mind, I’m undefined

 I’m just beginning, the pen’s in my hand, ending unplanned

 Staring at the blank page before you

 Open up the dirty window
 Let the sun illuminate the words that you could not find
 Reaching for something in the distance

 So close you can almost taste it
 Release your inhibitions
 Feel the rain on your skin
 No one else can feel it for you
 Only you can let it in
 No one else, no one else
 Can speak the words on your lips
 Drench yourself in words unspoken
 Live your life with arms wide open


 Today is where your book begins
 The rest is still unwritten”

It then struck me that I am not really “Unwritten” I am “Unstitched”
(which is also the name of one of the blogs I follow).

My blank page could easily be represented by a piece of plain calico, what to do with it, pleat, gather, hand-stitch, paint, machine stitch, beading?
It seems that for ages I have been struggling with being “Unstitched”, but things are finally coming together and I am getting a sense of where I want to be with my work. It’s such a personal thing, and it seems like so much of my new body of work will focus on family, times past, and found objects.

I have finally found the perfect home for this textile piece, which I posted about way back in January here.
We used to have a beautiful old piano stool which I painted, with drawers underneath. It was sort of on its last legs so when a friend sat on it and it collapsed, it wasn’t too much of a surprise (it was a shocker to her, but she was fine!). Anyway being the odd, batty individual that I am I could not throw the drawers away – and I am so glad I kept them, I love my textile suspended  by tiny chains inside it.

I also saved these bits of wood from it too, they remind me of a heart or angels wings (like I said BATTY!)
Thank you to everyone who comes and visits this blog, it is a complete miss-mash. I started it to help me get out of my creative rut and it is working, but when I started it I had no idea that I would actually have followers, and people who would comment on my randomness.
Thank you, thank you, thank you  – I appreciate your interest so much x
6 thoughts on “Unwritten

  1. From a random person herself, I must say I enjoy commenting on your randomness. Those snapped legs look great. I think you're like me … can't throw anything away, because it just might come in useful one day!

  2. Ooh this is so belated as well, but I LOVE that Unstitched banner!! 🙂 It's amazing what we find in life that unstitches us, and how it affects us in different ways.Lots of love to you Suzanne 🙂

Leave a Reply

