Away with the Fairies

Fairies by Arthur Rackham

“I’d Love to be a Fairy’s Child”


Children born of fairy stock
Never need for shirt or frock,
Never want for food or fire,
Always get their heart’s desire:
Jingle pockets full of gold,
Marry when they’re seven years old.
Every fairy child may keep
Two strong ponies and ten sheep;
All have houses, each his own,
Built of brick or granite stone;
They live on cherries, they run wild–
I’d love to be a Fairy’s child.

Robert Graves (1895 – 1985)

As a little girl, sometimes when I got home from school my mum would say “shall we see if the fairies have been today?”, she would then lead me out into the garden where we had a large buddlia bush and I would rummage around underneath it and find a sweetie in a shiny wrapper. I was so enchanted, and truly believed that the fairies had left them for me.
Today I have sat with the boys and watched “Fairytale – a true story”, on video (yup that’s how old it is!).

I bought it for my daughter when she was a little girl, and it was so lovely to watch it again. It is set in the midst of World War 1 and is based on the true story of two young girls Elsie Wright and Frances Griffiths who claimed to see fairies at the bottom of their garden. It has a great cast including Harvey Keitel, Peter O’Toole and Paul McGann. After watching it again I was intrigued by the story of the two girls and the Cottingley fairies and found this on you tube – wow!

9 thoughts on “Away with the Fairies

  1. Right – found you throuh Lisa's blog and now I'm going to watch your film. I always believed that fairies exist and now my eight year old still asks me if they do and I still say YES! Must get that film you showed too. Lovely post …

  2. My daughter is obsessed with fairies and makes up songs about them all the time. Fairies are such a magical part of childhood (and beyond).

Leave a Reply

