Stamping Words

These are my letter stamps for punching into metal. You line them up and bash them into the metal with a hammer – it is a great stress reliever! This week I took the plunge and bought some silver, I then promptly bashed my children’s names into it. The metal was then annealed (heated up), and then bent with some pliers. I then placed it on a metal ring cone and bashed it some more with a wooden hammer! I was then ready to solder the ends together.

The ring was then polished and it fits! Someone mentioned that it looks like something you put on the leg of a carrier pigeon – ha ha -how rude!!! I like it and I am carrying on keeping things very simple for the time being. I love words, text, quotes and find myself using them a lot in my work. These are some bookmarks which I have just been commissioned to make, with my fabric quote tags on them. They are pictured with some earrings I have also just made – hooks again!
Some of my favourite quotes at the moment are:

“Knowledge comes but wisdom lingers” , Alfred Lord Tennyson

“Parents hold their children’s hands a while, their hearts forever.” Proverb

“I do not love him because he behaves well, but simply because he is my little son.” Rabindranth Tagore

“Look not mournfully into the past, it comes not back again. Wisely improve the present. It is thine.” H.W.Longfellow.

I’d love to know any of your favourites…

One thought on “Stamping Words

  1. HI I JUST STARTED MY SECOND SIGHT ON ESTY I WROTE YOU THIS LONG LETTER AND BY BEING TIRED AT 4.30 IN THE MORNING I HIT DELET. BUT I HAVE ONE STORE CALLED LUELLAROSE@ETSY.COM I JUST STARTED ANOTHER CALLED STAMPINGWORDS, THATS HOW I FOUND YOU. I LOVE YOUR BLOG ITS SO TRUE AND FUNNY. IM A MOM OF THREE ALSO. I WOULD LOVE TO CHAT. MY EMAIL IS CROSATI@THEROSATIGROUP.COM ALL IN LOWER CAPS, AND MY FACEBOOK IS CORRIE REID ROSATI. BUT I JUST STARTED THE STAMPING AND SOMEONE GAVE ME A GOOD SIGHT FOR SILVER, THUNDERBIRDSUPPLY. THERE HAVING A HUGE SALE THE 3RD THROUGH THE 7TH OF COURSE THEY TOL ME THIS AFTER I PAID. BUT I DONT KNOW HOW FAR YOU ARE WITH THIS BUT WE COULD SHARE STUFF OR A SIGHT UNLESS YOUR WAY AHEAD OF ME. LET ME KNOW I LOVE YOUR BLOG ITS SO FUNNY. CORRIE

Leave a Reply

