Words…

One of my favourite quotes is :

“Let the beauty of what you love be what you do”, Rumi

I loved this quote so much that I incorporated it into a necklace, (as worn by my darling daughter). It hangs from a machine stitched thread.

The way I can achieve something similar in metal is to use metal punches. I will post a picture of some later. I really enjoyed using a hammer and bashing the punches into my copper, it’s a good stress reliever! There is a great video on http://www.wonderhowto.com/ that gives you tips on how to do it. I decided in class to make a really simple copper bracelet with a word stamped on it. It also meant that I had to use another machine – the drill. Fab! Loved using this too.

Samples. One polished, one not. Both exceptionally wonky, but hey I’m learning!


Ta Dah! My finished bracelet – not amazing I know, but I really enjoyed making it (and I didn’t need to use the nasty piercing saw). I have learnt lots of new skills : rolling, punching,drilling, sawing (not quite),sounds like a list from some horror film, using a blow torch to heat up the metal, bending the metal, sanding… and can’t wait to go back after half term.

Hope you have a good one.

Leave a Reply

